About Us

The Diverse Book Awards was established in November 2019 and was created by Abiola Bello and Helen Lewis, founders of The Author School (www.theauthorschool.com)


There are many book awards but very few that are just for diversity and we believe diversity is something to celebrate! The first year running the awards was AMAZING despite Abiola and Helen having to judge 60 books! But The Diverse Book Awards is here to stay and hopes to recreate that magic for many years to come.

The bright idea came about when Abiola was looking up book awards for diverse books and only found one, despite the conversations about more diversity in books. She shared the idea with Helen who backed it and they agreed it has to be UK based to celebrate the amazing talent that we have. Whilst Abiola was trying to think of a clever awards name, Helen said, “Why not keep it simple and call it The Diverse Book Awards?" 

The Diverse Book Awards are open to anyone who has written a book for children, young adults and adult. Fiction only and UK based authors. 

More diverse books are self-published so we are open to self-published and traditionally published books. A publisher or an author can submit a book published in 2020. Publishers can submit up to five books and authors can submit up to two books. 

Once you fill in the form please do email it with your book cover to hello@thediversebookawards.co.uk and someone will be in touch with more information. 

If you are submitting more than one book, please do send separate entry forms.

Anyone on the shortlist will have to contribute a fee that goes towards the marketing and publicity of the awards. Please do read the terms and conditions

We are going to shout about the shortlist and all will be invited to an awards ceremony in October where the winner will be announced.

Prize to be announced!

Any media enquiries please do send us an email hello@thediversebookawards.co.uk

The Author School logo.jpg